Over 100 House Republicans Back Maximum Pressure Act

Today, Rep. Jim Banks announced over 100 House Republican lawmakers cosponsored his Maximum Pressure Act to codify the Trump administration’s successful maximum pressure campaign on Iran into law. The Maximum Pressure Act is co-led by Republican Study Committee (RSC) Chairman Kevin Hern (R-OK-1) and RSC National Security Task Force Chairman Joe Wilson (R-SC-02). You can find the bill text here.

Said Rep. Banks: “Yesterday, with the help of Israeli intelligence services, Brazilian police arrested Iranian-backed terrorists plotting to murder Jews in Sao Paulo, Brasilia and Minas Gerais. We know that Iran’s murderous regime is now threatening our hemisphere thanks to Biden’s campaign of appeasement, that President Trump’s maximum pressure sanctions worked, and that, unlike Democrats, Republicans are united around defeating radical jihadism.

It’s time for our conference to act to hold the Iranian regime accountable by sending the Maximum Pressure Act to the Senate.”

Said RSC National Security Task Force Chairman Joe Wilson: “The threat from the Iranian regime has never been more dire as we have witnessed continuing mass murder in Israel, including of Americans, by Iran’s terrorist puppet Hamas and attacks on U.S. forces and assets by other Iran terrorist proxies. Iran is the root of all evil and instability in the region. This administration has utterly failed to enforce sanctions and Iranian sponsored terrorism is the result. I am grateful for the leadership of the Representative Banks and the Republican Study Committee to apply maximum pressure on the murderous regime that seeks death and destruction around the world, continuing the leadership of the Trump administration.”

The Maximum Pressure Act is co-led by Republican Study Committee (RSC) Chairman Kevin Hern (R-OK-1) and RSC National Security Task Force Chairman Joe Wilson (R-SC-02). It is supported by FDD Action, Alliance Advancing Freedom (AAF), United Against a Nuclear Iran (UANI), Republican Jewish Coalition (RJC), Christians United For Israel (CUFI), National Union for Democracy in Iran (NUFDI), Heritage Action, and Faith and Freedom Coalition.

Said Ryan Walker, Executive Vice President, Heritage Action: “As the conflict in Israel continues to rage on, the United States can no longer afford to sit idle as Iran and Hamas threaten our greatest ally in the Middle East. Appeasing Iran and lifting sanctions consistently fails, allowing Tehran to bolster its military at the grave expense of Americans and our allies. The Maximum Pressure Act is the strongest sanctions package Congress has to hold the Biden administration accountable and keep Iran in check. Members of Congress concerned about terrorism in the Middle East and Israel’s wellbeing should support Rep. Banks’s efforts to curb Iranian hostility."

Said the National Union for Democracy in Iran: “There is now no question-- the primary source of the chaos, insecurity, and terrorism in the Middle East is the Islamic Republic regime in Iran. Since its inception, this regime has employed repression at home and aggression abroad and has sought to scuddle any attempts at regional peace and stability. It is for that reason that those who seek peace, stability, and prosperity in the region must move beyond the old kick-the-can-down-the-road solutions and finally hold this criminal regime accountable. It is time for maximum pressure on the Islamic Republic and maximum support of the freedom-seeking Iranian people who are risking their lives to end the rule of this criminal regime.

As the leading Iranian-American organization dedicated to human rights and democracy, NUFDI is proud to support the Maximum Pressure Act as a positive step towards establishing a new Iran policy that will finally end the threat of the Islamic Republic and support the democratic aspirations of the Iranian people.”

104 Republican Cosponsors: Rep. Aderholt (AL-04), Rep. Alford (MS-04), Rep. Arrington (TX-19), Rep. Allen (GA-12),  (Rep. Bacon (NE-02), Rep. Baird (IN-04), Rep. Barr (KY-06), Rep. Bost (IL-12), Rep. Buck (CO-04),  Rep. Cammack (FL-03), Rep. Collins (GA-10), Rep. Crenshaw (TX-02), Rep. Ciscomani (AZ-06), Rep. Crenshaw (TX-02), Rep. Ellzey (TX-06), Rep. Estes (KS-04), Rep. Fallon (TX-04), Rep. Feenstra (IA-04), Rep. Finstad (MN-01), Rep. Ferguson (GA-03), Rep. Fitzgerald (WI-05), Rep. Fleischmann (TN-03), Rep. Franklin (FL-18), Rep. Garcia (CA-27), Rep. Gallagher (WI-08), Rep. Gimenez (FL-28), Rep. Gonzales (TX-23), Rep. Good (VA-05),  Rep. Gooden (TX-05), Rep. Guest (MS-03), Rep. Green (TN-07), Rep. Hern (OK-01), Rep. Higgins (LA-03), Rep. Hill (AR-02), Rep. Houchin (IN-09), Rep. Hudson (NC-09), Rep. Huizenga (MI-04), Rep. Jackson (TX-13), Rep. Joyce (OH-14), Rep. Kean (NJ-07),  Rep. LaLota (NY-01), Rep. LaTurner (KS-02), Rep. Langworthy (NY-23), Rep. Lamborn (CO-05), Rep. Loudermilk (GA-11), Rep. Luttrell (TX-08), Rep. Malliotakis (NY-11), Rep. Mann (KS-01), Rep. McClain (MI-09), Rep. Miller (OH-07), Rep. Miller-Meeks (IA-01), Rep. Mills (FL-07), Rep. Moolenaar (MI-02), Rep. Mooney (WV-02), Rep. Moore (UT-01), Rep. Nehls (TX-22), Rep. Newhouse ( WA-04) Rep. Norman (SC-05), Rep. Obernolte (CA-23), Rep. Owens (UT-04), Rep. Pence (IN-06), Rep. Pfluger (TX-11), Rep. Reschenthaler (PA-14), Rep. Rose (TN-06), Rep. Rutherford (FL-05), Rep. Salazar (FL-27), Rep. Self (TX-03), Rep. Sessions (TX-17), Rep. Stefanik (NY-21), Rep. Steil (WI-01), Rep. Steube (FL-17), Rep. Strong (AL-05), Rep. Tiffany (WI-07), Rep. Van Drew (NJ-02), Rep. Van Duyne (TX-24), Rep. Wagner (MO-02), Rep. Walberg (MI-05), Rep. Waltz (FL-06), Rep. Weber (TX-14), Rep. Williams, Roger (TX-25), Rep. Wilson (SC-02), Rep. Wittman (VA-01), Rep. Zinke (MT-01), Rep. Lawler (NY-17), Rep. Mary E. Miller (IL-15), Rep. Dunn (FL-02), Rep. Joyce (PA-13), Rep. Stauber (MN-08), Rep. Gosar (AZ-09), Rep. Wenstrup (OH-02), Rep. Tenney (NY-24), Rep. Rouzer (NC-07), Rep. Scott (GA-08), Rep. Yakym (IN-02), Rep. De La Cruz (TX-15), Rep. Cline (VA-06), Rep. Foxx (NC-05), Rep. Smucker (PA-11), Rep. Hinson (IA-02), Rep. (OH-15), Rep. Kustoff TN-08), Rep. Thompson (PA-15).

Stay Connected

Use the form below to sign up for my newsletter and get the latest news and updates directly to your inbox.